Since 1965, Community Action of South Mississippi has made a constant effort to improve the quality of life for members in the Jackson County area of Mississippi. We provide social services, mainly to Jackson County residents, that includes comprehensive childcare development and it continues through senior citizen activities.

With each coming year we strive to improve our existing programs while working to implement new programs to better serve our community. Our success is due largely to partnerships with our elected officials, local businesses, non-profits, education and health care systems, and all of the residents that make this possible.

Our Mission

Provide quality services that empowers the community and fosters independence.

Our Vision

Our vision is to be the standard of excellence in developing and delivering quality, responsive services.

Community Action Agencies are governed by a Board of Directors.  The Board consists of a representative of low-income individuals and families in the area served; an elected public official (or their representative); and members of business, industry, labor, religious, law enforcement, education, or other major groups and interests in the community served.

Public Sector

Cynthia Black
Chairperson of Board of Directors


Terri Tyler
Secretary of Board of Directors


Carlos Moulds


Nancy Jo Maples

Private Sector

Lauren Kelley
Vice-Chairperson of Board of Directors


Mandye Feranda


Ricky McCorvey


Raquel Williams

Low-Income Sector

Paul Lee
Board Liaison to Policy Council


Angie Cowan


Bernard Kirkland


Rosetta Williams

The Policy Council consists of Head Start parents and community representatives and is a decision making group that provides an opportunity to help shape decisions about program outcomes and activities.

Community Representatives

Chivalry Joyce


Terri Tyler
Board Liaison


Letha Boulton
Personnel Committee Chair


Laura Harry
Planning Committee Chair


Christian Hartley
Finance Committee Chair

Parent Representatives

Moss Point

Octavia Holloway
Khrystopher Green



Jessica Shoemake



Tiffany Woods
Shalimar Legister



Cha-Miracle Good



Julie Fortenberry
Antwuan McNair (Alernate)
Vanessa Gibson
Executive Director
Tayonka Thomas
Director of Children and Youth Services
Lee Ann Kendrick
Director of Adult Services
Tiffany Bradley
Director of Finance
Kelli Green
Human Resources Manager